Posted in 1.3 Assessing/Evaluating, 4.3 Reflection on Practice

Instructional Design Job Description

For this EDTECH 503 assignment, I am tasked with exploring the current job requirements of an Instructional Designer via actual job postings. I will then demonstrate my understanding of ID job requirements and responsibilities by creating a fictitious job posting.

Fictional Job Posting

This fictitious job posting was crafted after researching current Instructional Design job opportunities (see below) and reading Larson & Lockee’s first chapter: Mastering the Basics.” My intent was to include aspects of the jobs I found that interested me the most as well as the more obvious ID characteristics in order to demonstrate my understanding.

Click here or the thumbnail to view the PDF version.
Screenshot fictionJob

Reflection

How do the roles of teachers and instructional designers differ?

Instructional designers are tasked with the development of course materials. While teachers may do similar tasks, they do not develop the curriculum/guides that make course materials universal. For example, a facilitator guide for an online course. Another big difference comes with working with subject matter experts. ID’s spend a great deal of time working directly with someone who is an expert in the field. Teachers are often left to research and learn new content themselves.

In what ways do the responsibilities of teachers and instructional designers overlap?

I believe the most notable overlaps are the intention to educate. Teachers and instructional designers both need to come up with creative ways to disseminate information to the masses. They both also need to be concerned with the effectiveness of their work and collect & analyze data in order to be accountable for it.

Connect the relationship between these two roles to your own personal experiences. 

As a teacher, I look for curriculum and materials that I can adapt and deliver in my classroom. Some of my content is developed by me and some is adapted from others. When I was a curriculum developer in a corporate environment, I spent months researching, working with SMEs & instructors to develop content for a week-long course. All lessons, instructor notes, and course materials were developed by me. In both positions, my main focus is the learner and in both roles my goal is to create engaging measurable activities to facilitate learning.

Current “Real World” Instructional Designer Job Research

The following job postings were gathered from various sites. I have noted my thinking of why the posting was picked as well as what about it attracted my interest. For your convience, I have included both a link to the actual post as well as a PDF version. As this post ages and the active links break, they will be removed.

Job Posting 1

http://tinyurl.com/hlxad86 (PDF)
This TruGreen Instructional Designer position appeals to me mostly due to the work environment I can infer from reading the Responsibilities section. Each bullet point speaks to the very important steps of analysis/discovery, research, planning, development, and delivery which makes me feel like this company is committed to quality training products. On a personal note, I’m not sure I have what it takes to be passionate about the lawn care industry and would keep that in mind when considering applying.

Job Posting 2

http://tinyurl.com/zbyo2ro (PDF)
Taking in mind my desire to be passionate about the industry, my next job posting is from JetBlue. I love to travel for my job, not many people do, but I really do and this position offers 25% travel. From an ID perspective, I like that this position mentions the strong relationship developing skills needed to work with SMEs and project leads. Being a wiz at the technical aspects is great but without being able to (or wanting to) work with a wide variety of people can hurt someone in this type of position.

Job Posting 3

http://tinyurl.com/j3hlbkg (PDF)
The first two jobs sound great but neither is in my region so I’ve moved my search to my home state. The insurance industry (Travelers) does nothing for my passion level but it’s close to home. I noticed this posting is written with more of a strong business model feel and it emphasizes skills one expects in a corporate environment such as project management and development lifecycle. 

Job Posting 4

http://tinyurl.com/z5axhvq (PDF)
In keeping with local jobs, I wanted to explore ID jobs within higher ed. Having spent 10 years as a web developer in higher ed, I have a particular fondness for the industry. I chose this Goodwin College posting because the job responsibilities are heavily focused on online training development. Personally, I love being in the classroom so if I’m not doing the actual teaching, I would much rather develop for the online environment. 

Leave a Reply

