Posted in 1.1 Creating, 4.3 Reflection on Practice, AECT Standard 1 (Content Knowledge)

Final Game Project

This final game project started with grand ideas. I really wanted a way to have my high school shop students practice measuring. The students in our shop classes really struggle with measuring, likely due to not having practiced since they learned the skill in the 3rd grade. As a result, we have to re-teach the skill. I struggle finding material suitable for high school aged students so I figured a video game would be a great idea.

I quickly learned, as I was building this, that my ideas and my skills had a bit of a gap to overcome. I can’t put all the blame on my lack of skills, the tool GameSalad, also has it’s share of obstacles (bugs) to overcome. The game is a platform quiz game. You move through the house and “fix” broken furniture along the way by answering measuring questions. You can keep track of the required repairs on the resources screen, accessible via the shift key or the resources icon on-screen.

Currently, the broken items do not seem to show up when playing the game. The first lamp shows up but the other 8 items, do not. Neither does the door at the end, in the attic. I suspect, after quite a bit of time trying to troubleshoot, that perhaps it is a memory issue. I don’t definitively know. The good news is that all the functionality works, so when you run into the invisible broken furniture, you get the correct quiz screen. And when you answer all the quizzes correctly, the “door” in the attic sends you to the game over screen.

All in all, the game plays well and I’m fairly proud of it. Give it a go and see what you think!

Leave a Reply

